Answers

Gardening is filled with challenges. You know, like the rabbit that stared at me right outside the kitchen door this morning. What is the right thing to do? Shoo it away? Ignore it? (knowing there are plenty more out there). Let the dog out to do with it as she chooses? This time I stomped outside in my rubber boots and yelled at it (twice!) to vamoose! Not really a solution…

Then there is all the wind and rain damage from the deluge yesterday. How could I have prepared for that? I had staked and tied up my many clematis as well as other plants…but obviously could not stake everything. Nature certainly did a number this time: columbines are horizontal, peonies flattened, delphiniums a mess. Even the roses!  I’m not sure where to begin, especially with more wind and rain in the forecast. I invested in new metal peony hoops a few weeks ago. The baptisias and peonies in those seem to be OK so far. Do I need to spend dollars on more?

Oh the decisions. Somehow I thought that by the time I reached my seventies I would have answers to these and other dilemmas. Wasn’t I taught to revere my elders and respect their vast troves of knowledge? Well, in my case this acquired knowledge has passed me by and I still fret about things. But as I walked about early this morning, picking up downed branches along my way, I was pleased to see some highlights.  And so I’ll share a few with you.

    Disporum cantoniense ‘Night Heron’

How I love the subtle dark stems as they emerge and spread through the blue hosta! A real treat.

And another subtle bloom, the flowers of Enkianthus. This shrub has been growing here for at least ten years, but today it is at its best. It invites you to study it up close!

More subtlety! The blooms have opened on Allium bulgaricum. Hurray! Love these too. They seem to be increasing in number and that is just fine with me!

Things do balance each other out! Perhaps I have learned something after all.

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Answers

  1. Love it. I’ve missed your posts since I don’t visit the forums as often these days. I look forward to many more blog posts and photos. How are your Clematis these days? Mine are almost nonexistent in the new garden.

  2. tezalizard says:

    I have been in lust with D.c ‘Night Heron’ but must have too much shade as it never seems to produce more than one stem, and at that, it has never flowered. I am so thrilled to see you have joined the insane ranks of garden bloggers, and look forward to keeping up with your posts!

Leave a Reply

