Rhubarb

The asparagus is pretty much finished in our patch. It has lasted a good long while and has been delicious practically raw with our dinners. It also has made some great gifts – for example, it was a thank-you gift for baby sitting our flower and artichoke seedlings while we visited our son in Haiti last April.

But now I feel an urgent need to use up the tons of rhubarb which remain out there. And so today I tried a friend’s “easy peasy” recipe for rhubarb chutney.

I cut off the leaves and washed it…

I chopped and measured out 4 cups worth.

Then I cooked it up with balsamic vinegar, sugar, garlic, fresh ginger, ground coriander seed… then cooled it, and bottled it.

It’s now in the fridge waiting for the next giftee. From my garden. From my kitchen. From my heart.

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rhubarb

  1. Wow, yummy! wonderful! Wish I lived closer Bug.

Leave a Reply

