Yes Indeed…The Clematis Bug Lives Here!

I’ll never be totally cured of my clematis addiction, but I think things are calming down a bit these days. I can now look at clematis in a nursery and walk away without buying something every single time.  On garden walks I am delighted to find clematis paired with trees, shrubs or perennials in combinations that had never occurred to me before. On the other hand, I no longer feel the need to copy every single idea.

This year is a spectacular year for the garden. The season started early and both roses and clematis are thriving. I may never witness my garden like this again! It is a taste of what zone 7 gardeners must experience every year. Here in my corner of Ontario though, it is unheard of.

My taste in clematis has changed over time from my initial delight in anything eye catching – which meant bright, large and most important, available in Toronto. I had seen photos of English estates with giant Clematis Perle d’Azur covering long brick walls. I also fell in love with the sophisticated but simple blooms of Clematis ‘Marie Boisselot’ – and this one was available nearby and so I succumbed. As did the plant.

The decades since have followed a twisted path. I learned a great deal more about the care of these vines and was fortunate to meet some very special clematis experts in their gardens too.  That is how I became acquainted with the smaller varieties of bloom. Now, I enjoy all sorts: twining and non-clinging, bell shaped blooms, plants under a meter in height, even red ones -and have more than I can easily count. Yet, I will occasionally covet “just one more”. There is always something new and quite wonderful!

Let me share a few from my June garden .

Petit Faucon

Betty Corning- the start of something big!

Blue Pirouette

Aljonushka (a thug!)

Hexapetala – a small dainty clematis

Blue Bird – among the first to bloom

Pangbourne Pink

Durandii

Mikelite – glorious from the very start!

Buckland Beauty

Chantilly in the rain

Lake Baikal

Gravetye Beauty

Gravetye Beauty after the rain

Hagelby Pink with Rose Marie

Hagelby Pink

Madame Julia Correvon- in several places here! I love her name alone…

Fascination with Blekitny Aniol in the background

Maria Cornelia – new and lovely

Romantika

This is supposed to be C.Mrs T Lundell. A mislabelled Clematis I believe.

Marmori

Odoriba just beginning

Viola

Gazelle among the roses

Niobe – by our barn

Rooguchi -everyone loves this one!

I Am Lady J – new last year!

Andante -small and sweet

Juuli – always covered in blooms!

Huldine – perfection itself!

The reverse of Huldine’s white blooms

Aotearoa – beautuful deep color (hard to capture!)

That’s “a few” I guess!  Such variety means there is something for everyone. While I tend to think that certain plants are loved more by men (Hostas, Dahlias…) and that women are supposed to swoon over roses and things delicate, I find the ‘Clematis Admiration Society’ to be composed pretty much equally of both men and women. Both are capable of adding words like tepal, anther, Atragene, Heracleifolia, Integrifolia, Viticella, and ‘Clematis on the Web’ to their vocabularies.

We have so many clematis flowering now, with still more to bloom later on. But this is peak time for our vines, the moment we anticipate through the long winter months.

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yes Indeed…The Clematis Bug Lives Here!

  1. tezalizard says:

    Sweet Jesus! I have never seen so many Clematis in one collection. Methinks you have the National Collection! There are so many gorgeous ones, especially the ones with the dainty tubular flowers [blue, even better!] that I am going to have to look at more closely. I expect that some of the herbaceous ones here would be more tolerant of shade? We will have to discuss further when I see you next!

  2. How absolutely SPLENDID!!!!!! Fabulous collection, gorgeous photos Marie! So many here I’d love to have but no room and I need to figure out a better way to deal with my vole problem. Thanks for sharing!

  3. ks says:

    You remain Clematis Queen of the Idylls Marie. I have been looking for Juuli ever since I saw it in Penny Vogels garden last summer. Oh that we still has Chalk Hill !

  4. Sue says:

    Marie I will always consider you the Clematis queen! I see you’ve managed to squeeze a couple more unheard of by mere mortals varieties into your collection. Chalk Hill was the place to get them. I don’t think I’ve purchased one since they stopped selling mail order.

  5. Gayle says:

    What a stunning collection you have! I am in awe!

  6. Denise says:

    So glad you had a zone 7ish spring. Your clematis have always been amazing, so I’ll take your word that this is an exceptional year. There’s something about that pale, fluttery Maria Cornelia that is so appealing — not a showoff, just lovely. Also love those downturned little bells of Buckland Beauty, Fascination, et al, but then there’s no such thing as an unappealing clem. They look so at home on the split-rail fence.

  7. I have just three in my current garden though I may add more. I think my favorite thing about my Clematis addiction was all the wonderful fellow Clematis addicts I met from around the world. Most of all you!

    • Flattery Flattery…Plant addicts are lots of fun though. You were the real hort student at the time and taught us all about sepals and tepals and more! I still have your graduation card and other post cards too. Whittling down to under ten vines makes a great deal of sense I think. Not sure what my top 10 would be though. That would be a fun exercise! Things go in and out of fashion even in the plant world.

Leave a Reply

