RAIN!

I haven’t seen more than a countable number of raindrops at the farm since June 1st. If you heard a shriek at 1:40 this afternoon, it was me. Big drops of rain poured off the rooftops and into the rain barrels. I ran outside and actually turned off the sprinkler. (My husband warned me not to, that it would curse me! The rain would stop!)

HURRAY!

Well it lasted for 15 minutes, not long enough to really soak things or help the farmers, but it delighted me nevertheless. Who knows, perhaps more will head our way later in the day.

From the kitchen door….

Next to the garage

The potting bench with but a single clematis on it!

Water from the barn roof lands in an old bathtub placed there by previous owners.

Studying the drops on the Ruby Lace Locust.

What a thrill it was!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RAIN!

  1. Sue says:

    Yay! It’s been raining on and off here for a few hours but I don’t think it’s amounting to much. Still…beggars can’t be choosers.

  2. Michelle says:

    At least someone is getting a little rain. We are bone dry and with temps in the mid to high 90’s everyday I don’t think I can water enough.

  3. I just do my best Michelle, but the heat is overwhelming! We seem to get thunder and lightning but no rain. The poor corn doesn’t even have tassels…. Not sure whether cacti shouldn’t be my next plants of choice.

  4. Jealous here. wish we’d get some, the trees are getting stressed with these hot temps and no rain for a month

  5. Oh my, it was the trees that made me realize the seriousness of this drought! The nurseries were warning that people were killing their trees with daily watering and that once a week soaking was advised. It takes great restraint on my part to do this! I try for once a week but often give in and water twice each week. I feel that we need to have a long term plan for the years to come, whatever that might be. Out west our friends are dealing with mud slides.

Leave a Reply

