October Marvels

It has been quite unpleasant weather for the last couple of days and I have been fighting a cold. I’m not up to the heavy work required of me still, but I have been walking about a bit, warm tea in hand, studying what is most urgent. Caging certain plants from rodents is a priority here and it always seems to be done at the last minute, in the bitterest, gloomiest weather. Already they speak of “wet flurries”. Sigh… We also need to deal with mounding the roses, but that usually must wait until after the mice and voles have already made their nests elsewhere. There is nothing I can do about the skunk damage it seems.

Here are a few things I will be dealing with first…planting and disposal of annuals.

In the meantime,  a few plants always surprise me. One of these is the single stray clematis that always appears, trying for the last word! It seems to be a different variety each year.

Clematis Juuli

Nearby I discovered another October delight, Eupatorium altissimum ‘Prairie Jewel’, which was hiding behind the clematis. I had to move it in order to give it more light. I love its variegation.

A few roses linger on. I do love these yellow/orange Morden ‘Sunrise’!

A surprise of the senses wafted my way from the lavender. It is no longer beautiful, but the unexpected scent is divine.

The Ballerina rose seems to have intensified its colour recently. I hope it returns next spring. It is supposed to be very hardy.
There is also a bit of pink showing on the Fothergilla that wasn’t there earlier. This plant is a delight. I expected brighter Autumn hues, but am very happy with what I see.

Now even though the Hostas are mostly mush after our frost, I was happy to still  see a few blooms beside them from the Corydalis ‘Wildside Blue’!

The Porcelain Berry Vine is in full swing at this time too. Mine seems to produce more fruit at the base than at its top for some reason. The varied colours of the berries is always intriguing!

Euonymus europaeus (Spindle Bush) is also loaded with berries at this time. This year the branches hang low from the weight of the blooms!

On the melancholy side, the colour of the balloon flowers is now strictly autumnal gold. I’m always debating about cutting it back but end up deciding to wait and enjoy it. Never have I grown this plant as well as this year. Maybe it enjoyed the drought?

These fabulous artichokes that I grew from seed were a fun experiment! There is no way they will overwinter, even indoors, so I must dig them up soon. Breaks my heart. They’ve been exquisite, even though only 1 fruit was produced from the 11 plants! Oh the foliage!!!

And this, because it wins my heart. I love almost all ornamental grasses, but this one is especially beautiful now. This is Panicum virgatum Shenandoah.

And last, (but not least!)  look at what remains of our acres of Angelica. With luck, snow will land on the seed heads and create beautiful art for us on clear Winter days.

It has been a splendid Autumn so far!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October Marvels

  1. Oh what fun to go exploring and find October’s surprises. One never knows what beauty lurks in unexpected places. Love the Porcelain Berry vine. I have one but it never fruits because it just doesn’t get enough light where I have it planted. We are supposed to get down to 27 degrees or so tomorrow night so I still have a lot of things to get in the garage. Sigh…

  2. Sue says:

    For a cold zone, you have the most interesting collection of plants, Marie. Like Deanne, we’re supposed to get a hard freeze tonight so I’ll be scurrying around after work trying to toss a few things into the garage. Sad to see it go, but I look forwward to the break and in a few months will start looking forward to next year.

  3. Mary Waind says:

    All lovely, Marie. Did you notice the article about the U. of Guelph study re introducing eastern bluestar, Carolina lupine, blue false indigo, blazing star, prairie blazing star, eastern blazing star, button snakeroot and barrel-head gayfeather to landscape and cut-flower industries? Wild flowers for our gardens…

Leave a Reply

