Rain Rain Rain

I’m getting a bit tired of rain already. I would have LOVED it in June, July and August! Rain is in our forecast for the next week… at least when the “s” word is not mentioned. (Wednesday…)

But there is a sort of beauty found in it, especially as I look from the warmth of indoors.  The milkweed looks rather like sharp beaked birds I think…

Today is a day that the hunters are out. We have  heard shots throughout the day. I guess they don’t mind the rain at all. We must keep Phoebe-dog indoors though.

The wood is all stacked in the barn, the garage and on the front porch.  The bulbs are planted too.  About 100 I’d guess. There are still garden chores remaining, so I hope for dry days the following week. There are a few tasks left for our handyman as well.

Thanksgiving is a memory now for Canadians. We will soon be seeing Christmas themes in windows and shops. I’ve already been pondering gifts for our young grandchildren… who don’t need a thing. They have a Mommy and Daddy, a warm house with love – and food and games and school and friends and a pet dog. That’s not true for my friends in Haiti though, and this is tearing me apart since there is no way of sending things safely.

My friend Ruben emailed me today saying that sun has returned and that his school at least was not flooded by recent storms. His 180 small children can return for classes on Monday. I want his teachers to receive Christmas bonuses. They often don’t even receive regular salaries. ($100/month) I’ll find a way.

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rain Rain Rain

  1. Michelle says:

    We sure could use your rain. We are still in a drought and the subsoil moisture needs to replenished. More to do in the garden here as well. We did have snow on Thursday here but it melted as is hit the ground.

  2. Sue says:

    Apparently here it’s going to be Wind Wind Wind. Batten down the hatches!

  3. Wind and rain here too today. Love the image of the milkweed pods. beautiful!

Leave a Reply

