Moving Indoors

There are but a few red leaves and blooms on the Euonymus europaeus.  The high winds have taken most of our colourful foliage away. The Berberis hedge is quite bare. Look at the red maple now!

The power went off at the University this afternoon and so DH was home early for dinner. I have a few pots of water saved in case we lose power at the farm tonight. We have plenty of wood for our stove as well.

I have a tiny little vase where I try to keep garden blooms going indoors for as long as possible. This is definitely the very last of them. (I keep saying that!)

A very few plants were brought indoors to bloom: a small clematis and the no longer variegated Acanthus. They are now hanging out with “the regulars”.

One of my “Christmas” cacti is now blooming. This one is quite erratic about its bloom time!

These are the rest of my indoor “regulars”.

The hoses still need to be stored in the barn, and a whole bunch of plants need caging and mounding. But the grass has been mowed, the bird bath cleaned and stored away, most of the ground up leaves have been put to good use and the single Dahlia tuber is packed away in vermiculite. The last of the beets and carrots are harvested. Tonight we ate a great new recipe of beets with black currants! Tomorrow we’ll enjoy this Moroccan Carrot Soup which I prepared today: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Moroccan-Carrot-Soup-357911

And so now begins the season when I enjoy fireside activities and turn to knitting and reading. YOUR blog may be part of the reading program!

I won’t mind taking a break from weeding for a few months!

Why maybe it’s even time for a manicure!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving Indoors

  1. I do enjoy the shifting of activities as the seasons roll on. For me, it’s the September dilemma that gets me down. “Do I rip things apart now, when there is plenty of time, or do I wait for an imminent freeze and deal with taking in the tender stuff in an emergency fashion.” But for now. I’m 90% done and am ready to concentrate on my bird photography and paitning.

Leave a Reply

