Nesting

Settling in for winter – Favorite Thing Saturday #14

During winter cleanup or after a storm we often find bird nests in the gardens. This time it was a very tiny lacy nest that I found, I imagine from hummingbirds. It makes me think of all the work, and yes, anxiety, that goes into making a home, of protecting and raising the offspring. This is true for us humans as well as the birds, just a longer process. At least we don’t need to build a whole new home each year!

Sometimes the outdoor critters think they would like to be indoors too:

Who came to our kitchen door last night?

Speaking of domesticity, I have been busy making “quick” knits for gifts and thought I’d share a few.

A festive neck piece

Baby socks

We don’t yet know our Christmas plans and the uncertainty is a bit agitating. Nesting at home, quietly and simply, would be lovely!

Cold with flurries now as I type. You’d think it was winter!

*Joining Claudia at Favorite Thing Saturday*
About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nesting

  1. Debra says:

    The neckpiece and socks are lovely…I like the color scheme! I have a birds nest on the side of the house that has housed several families…AND there is a dryer sheet hanging from it! Yep I think they made curtains this year but it worked 🙂

  2. Diane says:

    Cute nest– isn’t it amazing birds know how to build those with no instructions?!

  3. Claudia says:

    I envy you that wood stove! It looks so cozy. I find nests on the property here, as well, and I am always amazed at the intricate workmanship – such patience!

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

  4. Denise says:

    That neck scarf is the coolest ever. What a beautiful place to nest.

  5. Sally says:

    Oh gosh, that’s so sad to find that lovely little nest and wonder what became of everyone. Many many years ago, someone I knew had a hummingbird nest in a shrub on her front walkway – it was so very precious to see the tiniest of eggs.

    Your gifts look lovely, your recipients will be so excited to receive your gorgeous work.

    Happy weekend to you!

  6. balisha says:

    What is it about nesting that we women enjoy so much. I love that cozy feeling, when it is snowing out and I can do a favorite thing indoors. Your gifts are really nice. Someone special will appreciate them.
    Balisha

Leave a Reply

