Indoor Surprises (and Garden Bloggers Bloom Day)

You have to understand that I am not good at caring for indoor plants. Add on to this the fact that I travel at odd times and must ask my neighbour to help with watering. She is likely better at this than I am!

Recently the plants that I brought indoors for the winter have been surprising me. Normally, all I expect of them is to survive. This is a long haul though, from October to May, and so I frequently have many stems and leaves that turn brown and fall off. The plants get light, but how much is enough…or too much? I do what I can. Here are some of the surprises:

Buds and blooms on my variegated AcanthusDec11-2012AcanthusVariegated

Aloe pinto, sending up flower stemsDec11-2012Aloa1

Clematis buds!Dec11-2012ClematisBud

Fuchsia bloomsDec11-2012Fuchsias1

You may have some hints on the care for some of these…. but I don’t expect them to survive until summer really, so the joy is in the moment.

 

Shared with Garden Bloggers Bloom Day over at May Dreams Gardens Gardens

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Indoor Surprises (and Garden Bloggers Bloom Day)

  1. I am most impressed with the flowers on Acanthus ‘Whitewater.’ I brought mine inside but thus far have been witnessing only foliage – of which none remains variegated. Alas.

  2. Lee May says:

    You’re much more talented than you claim – getting an impressive range of plants to bud and bloom. Clematis indoors!? Enjoy.

  3. Debra says:

    Clematis inside! Wow.. I want to try bringing some things in next year! πŸ™‚ Beautiful photos!

  4. gardenbug says:

    There are small clematis that cannot tolerate our winters, and so I grow them in containers outside and sometimes bring them indoors for winter. They turn brown and appear to die… but that is natural after blooming all summer. The plants need a break! So after a month or two, small green shoots, and sometimes buds, appear. It’s all about patience and luck.

Leave a Reply

