A Bookish Christmas!

Our family, separated by many miles, has taken to sharing photo books we make after visits and celebrations. This morning I eagerly opened two new ones from the “kids” out west.  The first one was a month by month set of photos recapturing their year. What fun! The second one was a series of beautiful photos recapturing the birth of baby Forrest Reed last August. LOVELY!

Dec25-2012FamilyRoom

DS came whizzing through the area a few weeks ago and brought me a book as well,  Jane Jacobs, the Story of The Death and Life of Great American Cities. This is a topic close to his heart. He inscribed it to me, the “Obstreperous Young Girl!” Of course he also had a GPS  to accompany it for my future travels.

I have started Ann Patchett’s State of Wonder, a novel. But then there’s also a fun read which I opened this morning, The Great Typo Hunt: Two Friends Changing the World, One Typo at a Time. This is a reference to the family story of my Dad the professor returning my letters with corrections marked in red. These days I have a very hard time refraining from doing the same with DD’s emails. 😉

DH has a book he’s devouring too: Reinventing FIRE, Bold Business Solutions for the New Energy Era by Amory B. Lovins and the Rocky Mountain Institute. Good choice DD!

Dec25-2012Puzzle

I’m eager to dig right in and read them all today…but that won’t be possible. There are other pleasures on this Christmas day. Dog walking and bird watching (3 golden crowned kinglets!), making cranberry sauce with pecans, sitting by the fire working on a sweater for my 2 year old grandson,  adding pieces to our on-going Christmas puzzle, and standing amazed in front of the clematis bloom that opened indoors just for my Christmas morn!

Dec25-2012ClematisIndoors!

The very best gift? My friend was able to have a Christmas party for the children at his school in Haiti! Balloons, juice, and small toys. Presents for the top students were given out.  I believe the children are watching a movie that Ruben was able to hook up and show them as a treat. It meant the world to them all. Makes me weepy.

Dec25-2012MagloirParty

Happy New Year to One and All!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

