Packing

Jan20-2013packing1I’ve been preparing for a two week trip for weeks. It seems to take forever! I’ve dug out the 2 suitcases (the carry on and the one to be checked). I’ve gathered gifts in one place. I’ve chased the cats away from the scene and I’ve located my photo ID. I’m in the process of doing laundry. I’ve asked someone to water the plants and let the dog out at noontime. I’ve purchased enough pet food to last the dog and cats for a month.  DH will feed and walk the dog morning and night, and he’ll also deal with the felines.

Jan20-2013CatPrep I’ve been buying food for the freezer and the pantry, because not only will DH be struggling alone for a week, but DS will be arriving in February and need to eat as well.  They are into serious work and not into cuisine. And so I have taken DH on a tour of the kitchen and the basement freezers to explain things for him.  While away, I will be cooking for my daughter’s family, and so I have gathered a whole bunch of recipes to prepare there. The day before I return, DS’s work friends will all land on our doorstep. When I come back home, I will be chef for many once more…. Notice all the boxed foods: pizzas, pasta stir fries, frozen french fries, frozen vegetables, frozen lasagnas, frozen fish, etc. They can barely set the oven those men folk!

Jan20-2013freezer2

Something doesn’t quite feel right about all this. I have been trying so hard to keep to my treadmill and portion control plans, and being surrounded by food is very difficult for me.

The bulky things I will wear: the jacket, the boots, hat and mitts. It may reach -40 while I’m there.

Oh well, I am hoping for a good June get-away with garden friends. They’ll have to accept me in whatever shape I arrive in!

So for now, “all my bags are packed I’m ready to go…I’m leaving on a jet plane” runs through my mind. (John Denver)

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Packing

  1. Sue says:

    Enjoy! Don’t worry about the men. They don’t worry about themselves. Minus 40…is that fahrenheit? Oh, I just checked a conversion table (I was absent the day they taught the metric system) and I guess it doesn’t matter. Yikes! Stay warm. I guarantee if you come to IU10 most likely you will not need anything more than a light sweater or windbreaker.

  2. Jack says:

    Surely there is takeout Chinese and pizza that gets delivered!

    • gardenbug says:

      Oddly enough we are quite rural here…and so occasionally one can get a pizza delivered, but there is no Chinese spot nearby. It’s easier to go to town than get a delivery. 😉

Leave a Reply

