A trip begins….

As my son leaves the Boston Airport, headed for Port-au-Prince, he coincidentally spied an art exhibit on Haiti!

8553844848_fbf0a31475

8552743473_727a5b4736

8553845380_0f6c7718ba

About to land

8553838474_e7472accb8

On arrival, he spies the new passport control area. Glamorous! 8552733205_1742185d31

The airport ‘limo’ motorcycles take him and his friend to their destination. 8552723587_a8ca613b78

8552713047_46aacb8aec

This is the lovely patio entryway to his friend’s house.8553814214_47ef5b012a

I’m not sure if this is a friend or a neighbor, but she’s awfully pretty and the little guy is also appealing.

8552710441_4fa3f74aa5

Things look busy in this part of town!8552708329_731b63a352

I know nothing about electrical wires, but this makes me pause….8552706579_4c0e4e15c4

At last, a picture of my very good friend! It is such a treat to see him. They stayed up late into the night working and catching up. Brings tears to my eyes. Everyone has high expectations for this trip. There are bound to be problems, but I have high hopes as well…8552709825_2fb74b3f20

I can’t wait for more photos…. Hugs to all! I left big pieces of my heart in Haiti.

Sharing with Claudia’s A Favorite Thing

PS: Nothing beats a phone call from DS and 2 special friends from downtown Port-au-Prince! I understood only about 10 words…not easy to hear a thing…but I LOVED IT anyway. They were outdoors at an intersection where I bought books for a school last time I was there. Oh my, I’m overwhelmed!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A trip begins….

  1. Debra says:

    Great pics and it will be fun to see more down the line…so interesting! 🙂

  2. Tammy says:

    Looks like it was adventure just getting there. Always is when going to countries like that. I hope your son’s trip will be fruitful. Best wishes, Tammy

  3. Mary says:

    I hope all goes well for your son during the trip. I saw wires like that in Bangkok streets last year – VERY scary!!

    Mary

  4. Claudia says:

    You’re right, those wires look ominous! I love these photos from Haiti. What is your son going to be doing there? I can’t wait to hear more about his trip.

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

    • Claudia, as I get more photos, you can follow along here: http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/ He (Adam) is working with a group of wonderful hand picked volunteers and 2 paid Haitian mentor friends of his to determine the best locations for assistance using laptops. He is working with orphanages mostly on this trip, but also at private schools. It is a short 3 week trip, full of the unknown! Every day is filled with surprises, delights and frustrations. BUT, I have received (noisy!) phone calls, and that is thrilling. Yesterday I spoke with the two Haitian helpers who are also friends of mine. Honestly, it brings tears to my eyes. I just never know if/ when I will see them again. Marie

  5. Susan says:

    Wonderful trip but my those wires look dangerous!

    Big Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  6. Haworth says:

    What beautiful photographs, and how wonderful that your son is having this experience. The world has grown so small, and it means we can get closer to people in ways that are so meaningful. I hope he has a wonderful (and safe!) time there. (I’m with you on the wires…. Ay yi yi!?)

Leave a Reply

