Sock it to me!

A pretty strange thing has happened. With the gray gloom which surrounds us as we wait impatiently for spring, my mind has returned to knitting! I went to a neighboring town with my husband on Saturday and picked up THREE different colours of sock yarn to add to my collection. How could I not bring these home? (The two with labels I already had) March24-2013Yarn I never knit at this time of year, but I’ve already planted my vegetable seeds under plant lights, so what’s a girl to do besides laundry, dishes and vacuuming? Those can wait. And I’m certainly not about to wash windows!

I picked up a small book of simple sock patterns to study. Even if the weather perks up, I’ll be knitting these sometime, maybe in September. Between books, gardening and knitting, I plan on enjoying my time, regardless what Mother Nature offers us. I plan on wearing funky socks next winter!

I also picked up a piece of fabric that I couldn’t pass up. I’ve always loved maple tree “helicopters”, and here they were! So my granddaughter will get a new outfit some day soon.

March24-2013Fabric

 I don’t see any sun yet today… but there’s still time.

*****

I left my heart in Haiti… Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sock it to me!

  1. Jack says:

    Very cute, gardenbug. Yes, I can see that there is a wide gulf between what guys do and what girls like you do. Knitting has never made it to my to-do list.

  2. Jeanmarie says:

    Yes, sock yarn is irresistible! Enjoy!

  3. Mary Waind says:

    What amazing colours, Marie! Love them… and I love maple keys.

  4. Alice Jordon says:

    Ivy will love her new outfit! Love the sock yarn too. I’d love to wear socks made out of that special yarn.

Leave a Reply

