The White Room

Our laundry room is actually a wonderful space that serves many purposes. It has always been called “The white room”. When we moved here 16 years ago, this room had never been painted. So now, even though pale green, it retains its name.

In addition to the washing machine and all sorts of laundry paraphernalia, there are closets for linens, old paint, coats and boots. There is an ironing board, a huge island with shelves and drawers for all sorts of things such as my husband’s tools, hats and mittens, old gardening magazines, etc. There is a spot where my father’s slide collection resides. I can’t throw them away. There are also cupboards above where I keep sleeping bags, table cloths, Christmas ornaments, gifts for the grandchildren, etc. There are shelves for loads of knitting supplies. And there’s my treadmill too. Everyone needs such a room! (That doesn’t mean it is always tidy!)

I also keep plant lights in this room. I have shelves where I save seeds from flowers and vegetables. Today I discovered seeds sent by a friend several years ago! I decided this was the day to see if they would germinate. I extracted vermiculite from one of the cupboards, moistened it lightly and inserted it into ziplock sandwich bags with 10 varieties of clematis seed.  Now the big wait!
March27-2013ClemSeeds1

While tidying up, I also discovered some handiwork made by my mother years ago, when I was a little girl. I remember her crocheting in a comfortable chair near a window waiting for dinner to cook. She often made these butterfly handkerchiefs. I can’t even remember using handkerchiefs, but I thought they were pretty. Her mother-in-law in France was impressed by these and asked her to show her how she made them.March27-2013CrochetButterfly1 March27-2013CrochetButterfly2

Mom made many things. She even made tablecloths. I have none of these and have no idea what became of them. I have one embroidered tablecloth from Alsace. But I did keep a “muffin cozy” that she made to keep things warm when they came out of the oven.  Here’s how it works:

It is made in a cross shape.March27-2013MuffinCozy1

Two sides are folded over the muffins (or cookies, or bread)March27-2013MuffinCozy2

The bottom side is folded over this.March27-2013MuffinCozy3

The decorative final side is folded last.March27-2013MuffinCozy4

I’m impressed. I have never learned to crochet, though I knit. She had three young children and found this work relaxing!March27-2013MuffinCozy5

At the time she was getting rid of her posessions, I had no interest in these old things and certainly no space for them. What a shame.

*****

I left my heart in Haiti… Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The White Room

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    It is sad that when we are young we do not value old things! Youth!

  2. Gayle says:

    There are treasures that I have let pass me by, too.

  3. Debra says:

    Beautiful butterfly and cozy…treasures! 🙂

  4. Claudia says:

    First of all – my laundry room is a closet in our bathroom! I’m so jealous!
    Secondly, your mother’s crochet work is absolutely beautiful! Goodness, what lovely and intricate work! I have some of my grandmother’s crochet work and I am always amazed by it.

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

  5. patty says:

    Such treasures you have. I absolutely love the butterfly handkerchief. I have never used them but I love them and would like to collect them.

  6. Diane says:

    Ahh, for a laundry “room”. Lucky you. Very nice work by your mother! Happy Easter!

  7. Tammy says:

    Your laundry room sounds amazing! I have seeds sent to my by a friend in Colorado — but I’ve never done anything with them. Very interesting how you are seeing if they will germinate. I’ve not seen it done like that before. The butterfly handkerchief is so very pretty. And the roll warmer is lovely, too. Such a shame you didn’t get more of your mom’s handmade things. Best wishes, Tammy

  8. Susan says:

    So pretty!

    Big Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  9. Pat says:

    I just stopped over from MHC favorite things… These hankies and muffin cozy are impressive. I like the small needle work. I’ve always loved old things… and I do crochet. I think it is nice that you have some of your mother’s hand work.
    I think what I found most impressive about your mother’s crochet…
    That “she sat in a comfortable chair by a window waiting dinner to cook”. What a wonderful time.
    Before microwaves, fast food, and extra curricular activities that made families disjointed like they are today!

    That memory…that is the treasure!

Leave a Reply

