Hunting for Spring

Yesterday was a warm sunny day with temperatures almost reaching 50C. I decided to take a walk-about in search of buds this morning. Things are starting out well!

Our new white lilac is looking super healthy!

April5-2013Lilac

Not only has our small Quercus robur Pectinata survived but its buds are intricate and lovely.April5-2013Quercus

The Tiger Eye Sumac is looking like soft deer antlers…April5-2013TigerEyeSumac

At last the witchhazel is beginning its show!April5-2013Witchhazel

The Abeliophyllum is looking good. It is so subtle that I sometimes miss its beginnings. I think it has had some damage and needs protecting next winter.April5-2013Abeliophyllum

Which brings me to the disappointments.

I think bunnies are to blame here… April5-2013EuonymusEuropeus

Voles and moles are about…April5-2013MolesVoles

But so are the spring bulbs…which is delightful!April2-2013Outdoors3

“If you want a rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.”

Author: Dolly Parton
*****
I left my heart in Haiti… Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/
About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hunting for Spring

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    Looks like spring is right around the corner for you! Hope you have no more snow.

  2. Sue says:

    A few of my shrubs got “debarked” by voles two winters ago. I ended up losing my specimen ‘Shisgishira’ Japanese maple along with multiple other plants.

  3. Mary Waind says:

    Great photos, Marie!
    I’m loving seeing the new growth buds at the top of the copper beech too.

  4. Michelle says:

    It’s so nice to see signs of spring. The deer antlers really did a number on my Tiger Eye but it should rebound fast.

Leave a Reply

