Being a Long Distance Nana

Linked to Claudia’s A Favorite Thing

The season of birthdays has begun. Soon my grandson will turn 14. I want him to have a wonderful birthday, but selecting gifts for him is very hard for me. It is extremely hard to choose something to please him. I really do not know anything he likes other than computer games…and I don’t want to go that route. Not food, not books, not clothing…nothing I can think of. He likes to swim…but his family can handle that.

Then I realized that his birthday falls on Arbor Day. AHA! I asked his parents if I could have them buy a tree for him to plant, a tree he’d learn to like over time, nothing fancy, just a nice tree that he could some day say “I planted that on my 14th birthday!” This idea pleases us all and I hope will please him too, if not immediately, in years to come.

Two weeks later will be my granddaughter’s 4th birthday. She’s a going concern in very different ways. Very active, very vocal, giggly and at times naughty too. It would be easy to give her any number of gifts. She’d adore new books, a new dress, even a visit! She’d love an activity together, like a trip to the park or a game of hopscotch. This week she had time for artwork, something she really loves. Her mommy sent some of her pictures to me and I love them to pieces. I guess they are not remarkable to anyone but me, but I miss the fact that I am not present to watch her progress on a daily or even a weekly basis. Again, that feeling creeps up on me that I will never know her as intimately as I would like.

This is Ivy wearing the red dress I gave her last time I visited.April5-2013IvyArt1April5-2013IvyArt2

Ivy adores rainbows. This shows a rainbow with trees in the foreground.April5-2013IvyArt3

I haven’t entirely solved the birthday gift for her, but I know it will be fun planning for it.

The two younger boys will have their birthdays in August and September. Plenty of time for thought. I hope to visit with them a bit before then to share some precious moments and learn a bit more about who they are becoming!

*****
I left my heart in Haiti… They tell me I’ll never get it back! Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/
About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Being a Long Distance Nana

  1. Dottie says:

    I am a long distance Nana also. It is so hard and I miss them so much. I try be as much apart of their life’s as I can
    in so many of the same ways as you do.
    Smiles Dottie

  2. Alice Jordon says:

    I adore Ivy’s drawings! (Maisie could no more draw anything similar to the girl in the red dress.)

    I love the idea of a tree for Skyler! Can’t believe he’s almost 14! Time goes too fast.

  3. Debra says:

    The tree is a wonderful idea! And you have quite the budding little artist there! Those are very nice pictures !

  4. Diane says:

    I have 3 nephews and gave up trying to figure out what to buy them as they got older– money now which I think like they like better anyway. Children’s art is wonderful!

  5. Jeanmarie says:

    I think the tree is a fantastic idea — definitely one I would keep in mind for future gift-giving!

  6. Susan says:

    I think the tree is a perfect idea! So permanent and so much pleasure to be gained from it over the years. Maybe you should give Ivy a tree too, a girly one like a flowering crabapple or maybe a lilac bush or pink rose bush.

    Big Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  7. Claudia says:

    A tree is such a wonderful idea for a birthday gift! You’re a good grandma!

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

  8. Leisa says:

    The tree-planting is a wonderful idea–something the two of you will share forever 🙂

  9. gardenoflisa says:

    Wonderful artwork! My parents are in the same boat…they are 600 miles from us (and their only grandchild). It makes my heart ache to have so many miles between us. Found you on A Favorite Thing and I’d love to have you stop by and share your post on The Creative HomeAcre Hop today!
    http://www.theselfsufficienthomeacre.com/2013/04/the-creative-homeacre-10.html

  10. Michelle says:

    I know too how hard long distance grandmothering is. You have some great ideas on how to stay connected to the kids. Do you talk via the computer? Todays technology does give a number of options that weren’t available just a few short years ago. I love the tree idea!

  11. Haworth says:

    I think making a special date to do something together would be a lovely birthday gift. So would books and…. perhaps some art supplies! She clearly loves to create and she’s got so much talent! Wishing you happy spring days!

Leave a Reply

