The Hunt Begins!

Sharing this post with Claudia at A Favorite Thing.

Although the storms are loud and windy, the temperatures are unusually high…around 73F today. Suddenly things are popping up!

Yesterday a friend came by to walk the gardens with me. We noticed the Bloodroot in its beginning stages. You can see the veining in the leaves as they begin to unwind. I think they look like cigars!April18-2013BloodrootStage0April18-2013BloodrootStage1

 As they unfurl you can see the wavy outline of each leaf and the bud in the center. To me this is the official start of spring! Hurray!April18-2013BloodrootStage2

Nearby the Mertensia is popping up with very dark foliage.April18-2013Mertensia

The new green shoots seem to have been nibbled… These will be white Dodecatheon. April18-2013Dodecatheon

Just yesterday I was looking for these Corydalis leaves to no avail! Here they are today! I believe this clump will be pink.April18-2013CorydalisEmerging

These are my great delight. The Hepatica are beginning to appear.April18-2013Hepatica1 April18-2013Hepatica3 April18-2013Hepatica4

In another area there are blue scilla and white trout lilies turning up.April18-2013Scilla

April18-2013WhiteTroutLily

Hellebores are in this area as well.April18-2013Hellebore2April18-2013Hellebore4April18-2013Hellebore3April18-2013Hellebore5

Lots of tidying up to do here and elsewhere! Today I cut back a few grasses. I guess slowly but surely we’ll get there!

*****

I left my heart in Haiti… They tell me I’ll never get it back! Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Hunt Begins!

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    It’s getting there! Just love the hepatica–and of course the hellebores! Just beautiful.

  2. Sue says:

    Even though spring has been late this year I’m enjoying it more than I have in previous years. Fllowers are lasting so much longer.

  3. Dottie says:

    Happy Spring Time !! It was a long time coming this year and oh so welcome. Smiles,Dottie

  4. Susan says:

    Each spring I am amazed by tender plants poking their heads through seemingly barren land and bringing forth such glory. Beautiful post.

    Big Hugs,
    Susan and Bentley

  5. Jack says:

    A very nice beginning for your northern garden.

  6. balisha says:

    Loved the sharing of your wild flowers.
    Balisha

  7. Claudia says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to see everything starting to bud and bloom?

    Thanks so much for joining in today.

    xo
    Claudia

  8. Shane says:

    Isn’t it just wonderful discovering the unfolding of Spring in your garden!
    You have so many beautiful treasures.
    Where I live on the other side of the world, we are welcoming Autumn with golden/russet hues in abundance.
    I love all the seasons – each is special in it’s own way.
    I’m here from Claudia’s A Favorite Thing.
    hugs
    Shane ♥

Leave a Reply

