Things White

Sharing with Carol at May Dreams Gardens

How strange it is to hear from friends everywhere about their spring weather! Some complain about excess heat, others about hail and white on their roofs. From day to day there is no predicting. In Ontario we cannot rely on the weather people. We hope that things will gradually become warmer, but no, nothing is that simple. Our weather is erratic.

The odd thing from my point of view is that regardless of the temperature or storm conditions, the plants seem to make steady progress. Each day that I step out to inspect the gardens there are new things popping up. So far nothing has been damaged by frost or hail, though I did cover plants twice recently for frost protection.

I’d like to share with you my love of spring whites..and by this I do not mean snow flakes! Here are the most recent white blooms I have enjoyed.

Trout liliesMay14-2013TroutLiliesNarcissus ThaliaMay7-2013NarcissusThaliaWhite double helleboresMay14-2013HelleboresPurissima tulipsMay5-2013TulipPurisima2LeucojumMay6-2013LeucojumWhite MuscariMay6-2013MuscariWhiteTrilliumMay14-2013Trillium2White DodecatheonMay14-2013DodecatheonGolden SealMay14-2013GoldenSealSpring Green TulipsMay14-2013SpringGreenTulipsWhite Bleeding HeartsMay14-2013BleedingHeartWhiteCreeping white blooms: Candytuft? Yes it’s Iberis sempervirens according to my expert, Sue!May6-2013FrontGardenTiarella CygnetMay14-2013TiarellaCygnetThe fact that we have had both warm and cold spells means that blooms have lasted longer than usual. I’m enjoying this part, but soon I’ll be ready to plant out tomatoes and other vegetables. So bring on some warmth mother nature!

*****

I left my heart in Haiti… They tell me I’ll never get it back! Do visit updates here as well! http://haitidreams.wordpress.com/

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things White

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    Just beautiful! What is the first plant? It looks like a trout lily but it is the wrong color.

  2. Your grape hyacinths are beautiful

  3. _emily_rose says:

    I love your tulips!!

  4. Sue says:

    I’ve got alot of spring white bloomers too. They always look great with yellows. The creeping white blooms are Iberis sempervirens.

  5. Scott Weber says:

    Lovely blooms…that white Dicentra is the best!

Leave a Reply

