A Garden walk with Surprises!

Two friends dropped by today for a spontaneous garden walk. I really should do this more often because other people see things that I do not! I’m more inclined to spot weeds, but my friends see things like color, shapes and fruit!

Today we saw the fruit on my young Katsura Red Fox. It is blue! Now I wonder what that means. I see no information on this on Google…. but what a treat!June7-2013Katsura2We also saw the Tamarack’s tiny cones.June9-2013TamarackThen we noticed that Arisaema Black Jack has returned! Thank goodness! I thought he had vanished over the winter.June7-2013ArisaemaBlackJack1And there’s a bloom coming on Veratrum Nigrum too. But even without, I love the foliage!June7-2013VeratrumNigrum1Now here’s a delight! Podophylum Spotty Dotty is not only huge this year, but it is sporting clumps of buds under its huge leaves for the first time. So exciting!June7-2013SpottyDotty1June7-2013SpottyDotty3Looks like they will be red!June7-2013SpottyDotty2The Enkianthus shrub is blooming, but only minimally. Last year it was weighted down with blooms, but this year there are only 3-4 clumps. They are subtly beautiful!June7-2013EnkianthusYou can see here how much I like bell-shaped blooms. These are Nectaroscordum bulbs coming into bloom.June9-2013Nectaroscordum

A close-up with morning dew.June9-2013Nectaroscordum2Later, before it got too dark, I was able to catch this photo of Disporum Night Heron, one of my all time favorite plants.June7-2013DisporumCantonienseNightHeronAnd last but not least, this hedge of Berberis appears to be on fire. The new growth is shockingly bright!June7-2013BerberisHedgeThis proves that we need to take the time to walk about and enjoy our gardens, not just fret over what we haven’t accomplished!

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Garden walk with Surprises!

  1. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. says:

    Oh my goodness, what a treat to tag along! A walk through your garden is such fun. I see several new-to-me varieties of plants that I need learn more about!

  2. Alice Jordon says:

    I’d love to be able to drop in for a spontaneous visit with you and a tour of your beautiful garden!

  3. Chris Nicholson says:

    Marie, Such excitement! I was at my garden club today and we were given details about a field trip to a garden and sales place in Indianapolis for July. There will be hostas, daylilies,
    perennials and arisaemas. The person announcing the trip didn’t even attempt to pronounce the last word but pointed her finger at me. For the purpose of identifying I said “Jack in the Pulpit relatives”. Then your post came! I’ve just forwarded the full post to all the club members who have listed e-addresses. I don’t know how to single out one picture to send and besides
    they are all interesting.

    I found podophyllum, disporum, and arisaema in The Explorer’s Garden by Dan Hinkley. I’ve seen a full sized Katsura once at Pendle Hill, near Swarthmore College. I’ve been interested in
    Veratrum through work by Piet Oedolf and Noel Kingsbury. You’re growing them all in Ontario!
    I didn’t think my zone 5 would accomodate Veratrum. My daughter gave me Dan Hinkley’s book when she was looking for something for my dirty hands and also for my brain! I take it on in little chunks or use it for reference as now.
    I’m assuming all you showed are hardy for you. What is the ph of your soil? We are pretty limey here. I have Jack in the Pulpit, and Green Dragon and another member of the family which looks like Green Dragon but comes up later, is larger and has sturdy very spotted stems.
    Many years I’m not patient enough and I think it is gone forever.
    Thanks for the treat! Chris Nicholson

  4. Jack says:

    You have a lot of beauty here. It fascinates me how each person plants a garden/yard differently. Yours and mine are very different.

    • gardenbug says:

      Many things feed into the differences in gardens: the gardens we’ve been exposed to by grandparents and neighbors, perhaps our geographic location, possibly our approach to the earth’s environment. Some enjoy art in their garden, others would rather raise chickens. Some love things lush and colorful, other prefer sophisticated simplicity. I love the opportunity gardening offers to contemplate. I also enjoy sharing gardening ideas with friends both near and far.

Leave a Reply

