Wonders Never Cease

This is the amazing story of  Podophyllum ‘Spotty Dotty’.

I purchased a single tiny plant of Podophyllum ‘Spotty Dotty about 8-10 years ago on a shopping expedition with dear gardening friends. It cost me about $3. I planted it in a shady wet spot and it did not grow and was engulfed in weeds.  After a couple of years we moved it to a different spot where it began to thrive! It grew from 2 small leaves to this:

June7-2013SpottyDotty1

Last week I noticed a few small buds hiding under the spotted foliage. I was amazed.June7-2013SpottyDotty3

Today I braved the mosquitoes and went to investigate those buds once more. This is what I found:June12-2013SpottyDotty1June12-2013SpottyDotty2And this!June12-2013SpottyDotty3I am told that later on I should check for “showy fruit”!

What a marvelous plant. I wonder why it hides its beauty so?

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wonders Never Cease

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    Wow! I love it!

    Have a wonderful visit with Sarah and her wonderful family!

  2. Sue says:

    Mine did not thrive. Is yours still in a shady wet spot?

  3. Dottie says:

    I love your Spotty Dotty!
    Smiles,Dottie

  4. Debra says:

    Never heard of this plant but it is so attractive! 🙂

  5. Diane says:

    I never heard of it either– very cool!

  6. Claudia says:

    Fascinating! Maybe if the blooms were exposed to the sun they might wither? Or it keeps them from being eaten by deer and bunnies?

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

Leave a Reply

