The Plant Ghetto

No sooner had all my lingering purchases finally found new homes than my friend Sandra organized her mid summer plant sale. Off we went, (DH & I!) to enjoy iced tea and cookies. (macadamia nut, white chocolate and cranberries!)

July12-2013PlantSaleHow she got her gardens looking so perfect after the horrific weather we’ve experienced I do not know. But how beautiful and welcoming!  Yes, I came home with “just a few necessities” and promises of seedlings later on.

It’s at this time of year that tidying up the gardens shows new spots that NEED filling. Ever willing to oblige!

The resident husband at the sale offered this tale to my husband:

“I went to Elmira the other day and found an interesting looking book at the used bookstore. I thought I’d like to read it so as I carried it over to the cashier, I noticed that inside the front cover was my own name!”

Similarly, DH observed that I seemed to be buying back my own plants from his wife…. To be very clear, I WAS NOT!

Thank you Sandra and Monika! I was feeling edgy having an empty potting bench! 🙂

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Plant Ghetto

  1. Deanne says:

    LOL, absolutely love this. What a pretty garden your friend has. I LOL over you DH thinking you were buying your own plants back.

  2. Alice Jordon says:

    Love your story about the used book! I visited a friend recently and she shared some of her daylilies. When I got home and compared them to mine, I realized I had given them to her years ago. 🙂 The garden is lovely.

  3. Michelle says:

    There are always holes to fill and if you can get something from a friend’s garden all the better. I like the pillar in the picture.

  4. Jack says:

    Very funny. I have bought the same book and same video numerous times. And that was when I was young and still had a memory. I fear to think what will happen now that I am an old geezer.

Leave a Reply

