A morning’s work

Ten silver maples grow through the grass. They line our laneway… and sometimes I mow that grass.

I have everyone fooled. They think this is work and ask how long it takes. I tell them over an hour. This is true. I drive the mower back and forth many times.

Aug2-2013laneway1At one end is our creek and bridge. There are fish, sumac, clematis, goldenrod, pink Joe Pye Weed, white wild asters. I drive slowly, to avoid the groundhog holes and wire fencing. There’s a small yellow butterfly fluttering each time I pass.

Back and forth again.

As I progress, the warm breeze blows my hair. The sky is blue with fluffy cumulus clouds. There is milkweed with pods, yellow butter and egg weed, purple clover blooms. And the small yellow butterfly.

Aug2-2013laneway3ButterAndEggs

Back and forth I go.

At the far end, the road. The milk truck leaves the farm across the way. Two bluebird houses are now empty. Earlier in spring I saw the bluebirds as I mowed.

Aug2-2013laneway2Back and forth, back and forth in the warm sun.

On each side the grain fields are ripening.  The seed heads catch the light of the sun.

Aug2-2013laneway4grainBack and forth again.

As I return, a blue heron is sitting on the cedar rail bridge and flies off as I approach..

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A morning’s work

  1. Alice Jordon says:

    Sounds just delightful!

  2. Mary Waind says:

    Lovely, Marie. The yellow flower looks like trefoil with a bloom like a baby snap dragon?

  3. Asha says:

    You are a poet. The yellow butterfly… yellow like a Lion? Somebody is keeping you company.

Leave a Reply

