Outdoor Work Advances: Part 2

No shortage of rain here. That and lots of cougar sightings have kept me out of the garden.  But weather hasn’t kept me from nurseries, and so eventually I find my way back to digging and planting.

This weekend I should be enjoying my Pasque Flowers, but they look quite sad and droopy due to the rain. But they are planted! Almost everything is planted by now, but the eternal problem of deciding if the locations really work has begun. I call it “Plants on wheels”. The most difficult for me is finding homes for all the clematis.  Determining ultimate size of plants is tricky. Deep shade areas are a challenge too.

I will need to accept that at this smaller property I cannot grow everything I would like… Which means that I am once again reminded that gardens are about the process. I suspect that even this new (to us) smaller spot will never be “completed”. For now I am enjoying an early spring filled with newly planted trout lilies, dodecatheon, woodland phlox, hellebores, epimedium and other delights.

Emerging plants are also intriguing: the brown foliage of Rodgersia, new green and purple stems of Clematis, fat buds on Camassia, lacey shoots of Gillenia stipulata, purple and oranger buds of Wallflowers, green shoots of Kirengeshoma and Ornamental Grasses. All add to the excitement of the season.

Pasque Flower

early-springApril5-002b

Trout Lilies

early-springApril5-024b

Epimedium

early-springApril5-013b

Phlox Sherwood Purple

early-springApril5-017b

Hosta Halcyon

early-springApril5-025b

Wallflower

early-springApril5-012b

Wallflower

early-springApril5-007b

Dodecatheon

early-springApril5-022b

Thalictrum Black Stockings

early-springApril5-006b

Camassia? We’ll soon find out!

early-springApril5-005b

Rodgersia podophyllum

early-springApril5-021b

Japanese Maple

early-springApril5-037b

Anemonopsis macrophylla

early-springApril5-018b

Carex buchananii

early-springApril5-009b

Clematis Juuli

early-springApril5-008b

Persicaria Golden Arrow

early-springApril5-001b

Gillenia stipulata

early-spring-April-5-006b

Kirengeshoma koreana

early-springApril5-019b

Magnolia about to open…

early-springApril5-039b

Planter for shade

early-springApril5-043b
Many more… and I am eager to see them all thrive!

*****

About fromourisland

Gardener, knitter, wife, mother of 2, grandmother, and lots more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outdoor Work Advances: Part 2

  1. Alice says:

    Everything looks beautiful!

  2. Chris Nicholson says:

    You’re so much farther into spring than we are! It is truly exciting to see.

  3. My inner gardener soul squealed with delight to see you managed to bring some of your Anemonopsis with you! And the Epimedium and Erythronium…… just bought a book devoted to Erythronium as I would like it to be my latest garden obsession. Still cold and blustery here, but with rain and not snow!

Leave a Reply

